Top 10 Facts About The Indian National Flag – Tri-Color

, , , ,

As we celebrate the 75th Independence day in India, did you know these 10 amazing facts about the national flag on India.

Top 10 facts about Indian National Flag

  1. Design – Indian National Flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya in April 1, 1921; which was later modified several times but the gist remained the same
  2. Current version of the flag was adopted on July 22, 1947, even before the Independence from Britishers.
  3. Not every one can design and make national flag. There is a law which prohibits other to manufacture the national flag.
  4. The Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha (KKGSS) is a manufacturing federation located in Garag village near Dharwad City in Dharwad district, Karnataka, India. It is the only unit in India that is authorized to manufacture and supply the Indian flag.
  5. Symbolism – The India national flag consist of 3 colored strips and an Ashok chakra in between them.
  6. Saffron color represents courage and sacrifice while, white color represents truth, peace and purity & the Green color of the Indian national flag denotes prosperity.
  7. The Ashok chakra is placed between the flag, on the white strip represents the Law of righteousness (Dharma).
  8. The Ashok chakra in Indian national flag has 24 spokes.
  9. One can only hoist national flag in day time and there should not be any other flag or symbol hoisted above the national flag.
  10. The original flag code of India did not allow private citizens to fly the national flag except on national days such as Independence Day or Republic Day. Via supreme court, government allowed private citizens to hoist the India national flag from 26 January 2002.

Indian National Flag

READ ALSO – India Celebrating 75th Independence Day – 15 August 2021 | Know Some Facts And Celebration